2009 Bushfires Anniversary

Celebrating the 10 Year Anniversary of the
2009 Victorian Bushfires Community Arts Grants Program

What were the Community Arts Grants?

The Victorian Government Community Arts Grants program provided funding for creative arts projects that reflected the experiences of local communities directly affected by the 2009 bushfires.

Regional Arts Victoria administered the funding for communities and individuals from the 21 local government areas directly affected. 

The Community Arts Grants program accepted applications from individuals, community organisations, and incorporated not-for-profit organisations including arts, non-arts, community and local government.

All projects occurred in one of the 21 local government areas directly affected by the 2009 Bushfires. The 21 impacted local government areas are as follows: 

  • Alpine Shire Council
  • Baw Baw Shire Council
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • City of Casey
  • Corangamite Shire
  • City of Greater Bendigo
  • Hepburn Shire Council
  • Horsham Rural City Council
  • Indigo Shire Council
  • Latrobe City Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • Murrindindi Shire Council
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Shire of South Gippsland
  • Southern Grampians Shire Council
  • Rural City of Wangaratta
  • Wellington Shire Council
  • Whittlesea Council
  • Yarra Ranges Council

Read Regional Arts Victoria’s Summary Report for the State Government 2009 Victorian Bushfires 10 Year Anniversary Community Arts Grant Program 2018-2019