Some of the Young Artists from our Creative Leaders Program – images supplied.

Creative Leaders Program

The Creative Leaders Program was a Vic Health Funded Project delivered between 2020 and 2022.

Designed to inspire, inform and develop the creative aspirations of school-aged artists in the south west, the program matched young people with industry mentors to assist in developing pathways to an arts career.

Outcomes of the program:

  • Increased social connections in the creative community
  • Increased creative industry knowledge and skills
  • Increased confidence to pursue a career or professional practice in the creative Industries
  • Increased wellbeing through networks and connections

Successful Applicants

Our Participants:

Minami Deguchi – musician (Warrnambool)

Rose Deppeler – jeweller (Port Campbell)

Eliza McLachlan – film maker (Warrnambool)

Josh Lee – drawer (Warrnambool)

Caitlin Martin – painter (Terang)

Grace Moloney – musician (The Sisters)

Destiny Bambridge – photographer (Lismore)

Jorja Hermon – dancer (Hamilton)

Grace Silcock – painter (Hamilton)

Levi Parker – performing artist (Portland)

Niamh Howard musician and writer (Kilarney)

Jacob Paton-Lee – songwriter and singer (Warrnambool)

Molly Carey – performing artist (Koroit)

Ella Noonan – performing artist (Portland)

Sarah Lane – designer (Camperdown)

Tomas Barras – musician (Hamilton)

Zaine Reevesis – actor (Portland)

Leyland Jones – opera singer (Cavendish)

Bailey Warrick – game designer (Port Fairy)

Felix Gillespie – fursuits, cosplay (Warrnambool)

Nina Fitzsimmons – arts worker (Port Fairy)

Evie Mae – musician (Port Fairy)

Kakay Girls – Indigenous culture leaders (Warrnambool)

Clontarf Boys – Indigenous development group (Warrnambool)

Our Mentors:

Monica Curro – musician

Tom Richardson – musician

David Blake – sound engineer

Mary Callahan – designer

Marissa Bennett – actor/producer

Jimmi Buscombe – painter

Gareth Colliton – painter/multi-arts

Josh Beames – photographer

Freya Josephine Hollick – musician

Brett Clarke – Indigenous culture leader and artist

Mel Steffenson – Emerging Indigenous leader

Kyall Shanks – dancer/choreographer

Glen Morgan – painter

Lyall Brooks – actor/director

Daniel Newell (Dandrogyny) – performing artist

Lucinda Newton – jeweller

Alex McClaren – film maker

Leah Senior – singer/song writer

Richard Pritchard – animator/multi-arts

Jordan Phang – gaming

Kylie Thulborn – arts worker

The Creative Leaders Program was an outcome of the South West Creative Industries Strategy and supported by region-wide stakeholders.

Short film by Storyteller in Residence, Mitchell Withers. An outcome of the South West Creative Industries Strategy.