Girgarre Soundshell - image supplied.

Small Town Transformations

Last updated on July 10th, 2023 at 03:28 pm

Neerim Bower, Neerim South – image by Ruth Burleigh.

Following an intensive application and shortlisting process, six small Victorian towns each received $350,000 for a significant artistic project with lasting legacy as part of the Victorian Government’s Small Town Transformations initiative.

After an exciting period of discussion, research and sharing of ideas within small towns of less than 2,000 people across the state, 73 inspiring projects from 71 towns were put forward for assessment by an independent selection panel. 14 towns were shortlisted, with six town selected.

These towns commenced their transformation projects in August 2016 and completed them by October 2018.

The six towns selected for Small Town Transformations are:

  • Birregurra – for their project enLIGHTen Me: I Have a Hall in my Heart
  • Girgarre – for their project Girgarre Revival: The Sound of Our Spirit Rising
  • Lake Tyers Beach – for their project FLOAT
  • Narrawong – for their project Kang-o-Meerteek
  • Rainbow – for their project The Oasis: Creativity on the Edge of the Desert
  • Western Port Waterline Townships – from Pioneer Bay to Coronet Bay – for their project The Edge of Us

Regional Arts Victoria presented the first Small Town Transformations on behalf of the Victorian Government from 2012 to 2014. Those five projects were:

  • Avoca – The Garden of Fire and Water
  • Dookie – Dookie Earthed
  • Natimuk – The Verj
  • Neerim South – Neerim Bower: Inspired by Birds
  • Ouyen – Mallee Up In Lights

The Small Town Transformations program was part of the Andrews Labor Government’s $20 million regional arts package in the 2015-16 State Budget.

Victorian Government small