Our Board

CHAIR Kath M Mainland CBE
Kath joined Melbourne International Arts Festival as Executive Director in 2016 from the Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society, where she had spent seven years as Chief Executive. Kath has worked in and around Festivals for over 25 years, and acted as a trustee on a number of arts boards including chairing Festivals Edinburgh, the high-level organisation created to take the lead on the city’s festivals’ joint strategic development. Over her tenure at the Fringe, the world’s largest arts festival grew in size by 52% with audiences increasing by 27% and breaking the two million ticket sales barrier for the first time in 2014. A card-carrying arts administrator, originally from Orkney, Kath was awarded a CBE for services to culture in Scotland in 2014. She is passionate about the arts, their place in society, and particularly passionate about the unique alchemy that happens at festivals and how this experience is applicable across the world.

DEPUTY CHAIR Rebecca Brezzi
Rebecca has degrees and qualifications in law, psychology and business systems.  She is a barrister at the Victorian Bar and has taught in the areas of commercial, administrative and corporate law. Before becoming a lawyer, Rebecca was a senior project manager with the carriage of change management projects in the telecommunications, energy and IT sectors. Rebecca served 5 years (4 as chair) on the board of Express Media, a not for profit organisation promoting young Australian writers.

TREASURER Victoria Crane
Victoria is an experienced banking and risk professional and holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Laws (Hons).  Having formerly held roles with ANZ Institutional Bank and Allens Arthur Robinson (now Allens Linklaters), Victoria is now the General Manager - Operations at Learning for Life Autism Centre.

Elise Armitage
Bachelor of Arts – Anthropology and International Development, and Diploma of Business Governance. Elise has extensive management and administrative experience in both public and not-for-profit sectors, across Arts, Health and Tourism within regional and remote areas. Elise has directed and managed many festivals, events and creative projects across Victoria, and is a practicing artist.

Jes John
Jes John is one of the leading members (and currently the chair) of F.INC, which grew from (f)route, a hugely successful localism and community-based arts group in East Gippsland. She is also one of the founding members of Foundry, an arts co-operative retail store + collaborative office space, located in downtown Bairnsdale, which has been operating successfully for three years. Jes is socially-engaged in the best of ways, and has long recognised that art doesn’t always live inside galleries - it is often found within community, and builds strong connections between those regionally.

Emma Jones
After completing a Bachelor of Music (Jazz), Emma built a career in web and e-learning development working in Canberra, London and Melbourne. Experience gained working on many projects during this time led Emma to her current role as a Project Manager specialising in implementing IT systems in large organisations. Emma has a long association with arts organisations and projects in Northeast Victoria, including the King Valley Art Show and four years as deputy chair of Wangaratta Festival of Jazz. Her artistic practice spans music, printmaking and textiles. Qualifications: Bachelor of Music - Jazz Performance 2000 ANU, Diploma Software Development 2002, Dip Project Management 2015.

Greg Pritchard
Dr Greg Pritchard is an inter- and multi-disciplinary artist with a long history as performance artist, writer (in many genres), digital media artist, installation artist, and conceptual artist. He has worked independently and as part of various collectives and partnerships, to produce works that range in scale, up to the giant celebratory spectacles of Nati Frinj and Poppet Bendigo. His personal performances deal with philosophical, political and environmental issues and ranges from socially-engaged to theoretical and individual. He is an experienced teacher and arts administrator, and has a Doctorate in Literature and Environmental Philosophy (Deakin) and a Masters in Art (Art in Public Space – RMIT) In 2019 he was Artistic Director for Artstate Tamworth 2019, Regional Arts NSW annual regional arts festival/conference. He is currently managing the Platform Art Space for Eastern Riverina Arts, Wagga, which is which is a shipping container that has been modified to be a chill space at festivals for people with anxiety or a number of different experiences of disability.

Richard Hull
Richard Hull is a producer and organisational leader, passionate about the arts. His early career embraced technical theatre and production before moving into executive management. In London he was manager of several West End theatres and on the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, a producer with Assembly Theatre. As an independent producer, Richard presented a range of comedy and theatre shows that toured the UK and internationally. In 2006, Richard was appointed Head of Customer Service at Sydney Opera House, a role he held for three years before joining the Sydney Fringe as Festival Director in 2010. Since 2012, Richard has been Chief Executive Officer of the Flying Fruit Fly Circus, Australia’s National Youth Circus. Richard is on the Board of Regional Arts Victoria and Murray Arts, an advisor to Company2 and a committee member of the heritage listed Barnawartha Hall.

Tom Molyneux
Tom Molyneux is a Gunditjmara theatre actor, director and playwright based in Geelong, Australia. He holds a Bachelor of Laws/Bachelor of Performing Arts from Monash University, a Graduate Certificate of Management from the Australian Institute of Business and is currently completing a Master of Business (Arts and Cultural Management) at Deakin University. Tom has an extensive history of work in successful independent theatre productions. He is currently the Indigenous Inclusion Coordinator at Deakin University, and has experience working in Diversity and Inclusion roles.